Installation


To install your program run setup_PROGRAM.exe. It may be necessary to uninstall previous versions of the program, if necessary. A prompt will be issued to that effect by setup.

If you are installing on a Windows 10, then make sure that the Sideload apps is selected in Update & Security section of settings.

Notes

If you have Administrators account then this part can be skipped.

If you are prompted for Administrator password (in case your Windows account is of Administrator type), and the Administrator of your machine is not readily available, you can do the following:

  1. Move the setup_PROGRAM.exe out of the Downloads folder into the Documents folder, say. Run setup_PROGRAM.exe again.
  2. If the above fails for Windows 10, then open Windows Settings > For developers and select Sideload applications or Developer Mode. Run the setup program as in the first step.
  3. In the ulikely event that the above does not work, track down your Administrator or contact Taktone.

If something does not seem quite right, then manually uninstall any previous version through the Control Panel, before installing the new version.

Note: Windows 10 considers external memory sticks or DVDs non-secure for program installation. If setup fails when run from from DVD or memory stick, then copy the setup program into the Documents folder and run it again.

Sometines Install will fail for no good reason. In such a case Uninstall the program completely (see below)

Uninstalling

Taktone programs use only standard Windows install/uninstall procedures. To uninstall a program from Taktone follow the following steps (these also apply to almost any Windows program):

  • Open Control Panel
  • Open "Programs and Features"
  • Find the program you want to remove and right click on it. Select "Uninstall/Change"
  • Select "Remove the application from this computer"
  • Press OK

IMPORTANT!!!

If you are running a version earlier than v.2020.4.1.0, a prompt will appear to uninstall the program manually using the above procedure. This is a one time action and subsequent versions do not require manual uninstall.